Silver Cup

silver-cup
Argentium silver (93.5% silver. Sterling silver is at least 92.5%, so this silver is one grade above sterling). 25 ml in volume. 35 grams in weight (1 1/8 troy oz). Polished by Christine Guibara.

It did not occur to me when I made this, but the job of fabricator and polisher used to be separate professions. I found Christine on the internet and had her polish this cup for me simply because I do not have the right equipment. It was only after I dropped it off that I appreciated the historical parallel.

This cup has a circular profile on top and hexagonal on the bottom – similar to the reliquary pendant. I am intending for it to be a test-run for a larger piece I am currently working on.

    Leave a Reply

