How Frequently Should I Publish Blog Posts

I saw this short blog post “How Often Should We Write Blog Posts” at freshysites.com. (Actually, I saw a link to that article on Twitter). All it really says is: “The More You Write The Better Your Results Will Be”.

Certainly writing often might make you a better writer, but will search engines penalize you for not publishing often enough (whatever “often enough” might mean)?

I don’t really do anything to market my blog (as you will soon see from my viewership stats). I don’t tweet about it much and have never personally posted anything on Facebook about it.

People suggest that a blog should have a constant, narrow theme, but I blog on all sort of subjects. As a result, I get most of my traffic through Google searches where people type in something, find one particular post and then leave.

Some of the top volume search terms in 2011 were:

  • asymptote” (leading to “Asymptotically Correct“, about something in one of Seth Godin’s business books)

and, of course,

  • bradd libby” (Hi, Dad!)

In mid-June I published my most popular post ever, “Asian People are Good Drivers” which got blogged about a couple days later by iamkoream.com, a Korean-American blog. To date there have been 378 views of that specific post, though even more people also saw it when it was on the main page.

My second most popular post ever was “Bing Maps Bird’s Eye View: Now 4x Cooler“, which took about 10 minutes to put together. I genuinely don’t understand why so many people are doing searches for bird’s eye view of the Statue of Liberty.

The graph shows pageviews and a 7-day average, along with a small blue dot each time I posted. You can see that I don’t get much traffic. Under 40 pageviews a day is typical and single-digit values are still common.

I posted 49 times in 2011 (plus one more time, so far, in 2012), which is about once per week, on average – or about what a small business, solo artist, or so forth might do.

(click image to enlarge)

I had a dry spell in May and then another starting in August and lasting through September, October, November and part of December.

What’s interesting to me is that, during that longest period without posting (highlighted in gray), my traffic didn’t drop off overall. In fact, it increased.

Some of that traffic was really bad quality. Thanks to some of my posts like “There’s No Place Like China” about the sex ratio in Asia (the number of young boys relative to the number of young girls), my posts are appearing in searches for things like “sex with young asian boy”.

So, I don’t have an answer to the question of how often one should post. But, if you have a dry period for a few weeks or months, you probably don’t need to feel anxious about not posting.

    Leave a Reply

