Tell Me Your Problems

A friend left the front door one day to go shopping. She was gone long enough only to walk to the car and back to the house.

As she came back in the front door, she said, “Can I borrow a credit card?” I began looking in my wallet for one and asked (mostly just to kill the time), “What do you need it for?”

She answered, “There’s ice on the car’s windshield and I need to scrape it off.”

I kept digging through my wallet, but pulled out an old library card instead.

“How about this library card, instead?”

Had I not asked, I would have wound up giving her a credit card. Had it not taken a little longer to find card, I would not have even asked the question.

Here’s an idea: when there’s a problem, tell me the problem, not one potential solution to that problem. “There’s ice on the car’s windshield (and I need to scrape it off)” is generally a better starting point than “Can I borrow a credit card?”

    Leave a Reply

