Dancing with Data: Behind Hans Rosling’s Graphs

I’ve written something about Hans Rosling and his Gapminder graphs, but I think it’s too long and has too many images to publish as a simple blog post. So, I’ve pasted it into a PDF file, which you can download here, if you’d like:

Dancing with Data: Behind Hans Rosling’s Graphs (PDF)

Essentially, I show that a very simple model of population development demonstrates the relationship between ‘Child Mortality’ and ‘Children per Woman’ that Dr. Rosling showed in his ‘Good News of the Decade‘ presentation.

That is, I explain why I think the relationships in Dr. Rosling’s animated bubble graphs follow the paths they do.

=====

For more of my posts about Dr. Rosling’s software, please visit my Gapminder page.

    Leave a Reply

