In One Hand, Out the Other

I got three letters in the mail yesterday.

One was a check from an account I had forgotten about. The institution closed the account and mailed me the balance. It wasn’t much – just a couple of hundred dollars – but a pleasant little surprise nonetheless.

The second was a check from an overpayment I had made to a company. Again, I hadn’t expected it and again it wasn’t very large – under a hundred bucks – but still a nice surprise.

The third was a bill from my health insurance company which added up to the previous two checks, plus a few dollars more.

Sometimes, I feel like I’m just a middleman for my own money.

    Leave a Reply

