Profile in Marketing: iProspect and Acquisio

For a sub-category of the marketing field, some Search Engine Marketing firms seem to either be especially bad at what they do, or I’m just completely missing the point of their advertising. Tell me if I’m wrong.

iProspect has a brochure whose cover looks like:

(click image to enlarge)

In case you can’t see the image, the picture shows a prospector’s pan filled with gold nuggets. One of those nuggets is highlighted with a lime-green box.

OK, I get the ‘prospector’ analogy: Online traffic is a stream of mostly non-converting clicks. The few clicks that do result in conversions are like the nuggets of gold in the prospector’s pan of dirt.

So, then answer me this – Why aren’t all of the nuggets highlighted? There’s no dirt in this pan, only nuggets. So why is only one nugget highlighted? If iProspect will get you the most value from your online marketing efforts, shouldn’t the pan look like this instead?

(click image to enlarge)

What message is iProspect trying to send with their version? “iProspect: We Can Find a Nugget of Gold…in a Whole Pan Full of Gold“?!

I just don’t get their image.

And here’s a slogan I understand even less. Acquisio software makes this t-shirt and gives it away:

Yes, they actually make this t-shirt and put their company’s website address on it, as if they are proud of it. Their employees walk around wearing it and, apparently, are not embarrassed to be seen doing so in public. Look, if you hate doing this, then why in the world are you doing it? Is this shirt actually supposed to convince me to use your software?

I honestly don’t understand how a whole company full of people thought this was a good idea.

Look, I don’t mean to pick on iProspect or Acquisio specifically. There’s a lot of goofy, poorly thought-through advertising in this world. These are just two small examples out of hundreds of possible ones I could have chosen.

Or, like I said, maybe I’m just missing the point entirely.

    Leave a Reply

