Google Translate: More Than Meets the Eye

I’ve long suspected that Google Translate can handle far more languages than the 50 or so they currently offer, but haven’t had any proof until now.

While entering a phrase with ‘Detect language’ used, I got a message that said “We are not yet able to translate from Occitan into Japanese.”

(click image to enlarge)

Occitan is a language spoken in southern France and nearby regions and is similar to Catalan, which Google Translate currently handles. By the same method, I was also able to find the Google Translate is working on supporting:

  • Cambodian
  • Mongolian
  • Esperanto
  • Uzbek
  • Laothian
  • Bosnian
  • Corsican
  • Scots Gaelic
  • Frisian
  • Tatar
  • Tamil
  • Maori
  • Quechua
  • Breton
  • Tonga
  • Punjabi
  • Kurdish
  • Malayalam
  • Kannada, and
  • Telugu

(And probably many, many others.)
It would be interesting to find other examples.


UPDATE (1 Jan 2014): As of 1 January 2014, the languages highlighted in orange are now supported by Google Translate.

UPDATE (17 Dec 2014): As of 11 December 2014, Google Translate supports Malayalam and Uzbek, among others.

UPDATE (18 Feb 2016): Support for Frisian was recently added.


    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: