From Got-to to Get-to

This is a silly idea, but it actually works for me some times. Let’s say I have something on my to-do list that I just don’t want to do. I’ve got to mow the lawn. I’ve got to go grocery shopping again. I’ve got to go to the hardware store.

Just change the phrase “got to” to “get to” and see how the task seems much less daunting: I get to mow the lawn. I get to go grocery shopping again. I get to go to the hardware store.

How many people in the world are lucky enough to have a lawn to mow, or the chance to wander among piles of colorful produce or can just buy some shiny new tool whenever they have a problem? It’s not every day that you get to do these things, so rejoice at the opportunity!

Like I said: It’s a silly idea, but it actually works for me some times.

    Leave a Reply

